Olly Olly Oxen Free…Come Out, Come Out Wherever You Are!!!!

Well, all I can say is, it’s a darn good thing I don’t actually write for a living …or any type of income, for that matter. If so, I would be frequenting soup kitchens and forced to survive on bread and water at this point. I honestly don’t know where the writer in me has disappeared to. I started off with a ‘bang’ a few months ago and was all pumped up about it and have now gradually lost “my voice” over the past several weeks.

Perhaps it’s due to a lot of change in my life lately and the need to adjust.  School started back up (one of my ‘hats’ is that of a school nurse) and the first three months are always just crazy – busy!  In my particular case, I have about 600 students in my care, which means, among other things, checking all their shot records and emergency medical forms, doing vision and hearing screenings, teaching them about handwashing and puberty and, of course, taking care of them when they are injured or ill.

Or, perhaps it stems from a lack of confidence that something I choose to write about would be of any interest whatsoever to anyone else. For instance, I am not a big traveler, by situation rather than design, and therefore do not have a lot of tales of new locales to regale my readers with. Although, on the other hand, I did have the very enjoyable opportunity this summer to visit several different wineries; all but one with the new man in my life.  A few weeks back, we spent a wonderful day on Put-in-Bay island where we visited Heineman’s and Put-in-Bay wineries. Upon returning to the “mainland”, we visited Mon Ami where we enjoyed a scrumptious seafood buffet along with their delicious wine. I personally enjoyed the Lake Erie Concord and my date preferred the Shiraz. On another occasion in nearby Amish country, we visited Silver Moon and it’s better known neighbor Breitenbach Winery. What Silver Moon may have lacked in atmosphere, it made up for in some delicious wines, including my first taste of a rhubarb wine, which was quite refreshing. If I had to choose a favorite at Breitenbach, it would undoubtedly be Roadhouse Red, as I am a lover of the sweeter wines. However, even my man-friend Jeff, who stated unequivocally in his deep sexy voice that he does NOT “drink cough syrup”, took a liking to that particular red as well.  On a more recent trip, we visited the Blue Barn Winery, a new establishment in a gorgeously renovated old blue barn on Route 3 about 2/3 of the way to Wooster from Loudonville.  The antique and old-world furnishings and atmosphere are the perfect place to enjoy a glass or two of wine.  Out of all these, I would probably say that my favorite for an outdoor venue was Put-in-Bay Winery. For indoor atmosphere, it might be a draw between Mon Ami and Blue Barn.  As far as the actual wine itself, I would have to say that Heineman’s Sweet Belle was probably my favorite, despite the cute nose-curling of my date who much prefers a Merlot or Shiraz. Unfortunately, though, Heineman’s wine is not to be found in any stores.  One has to either procure it in person or order it via their website.

Well, I’ll be … guess I had a little bit of something to write about after all!

Maybe the answer regarding the mysterious disappearance of my “inner writer” revolves more around the simple act of making time to sit down with paper and pencil and quieting one’s mind. A practice I admittedly have not engaged in much of late.

Wishing you a happy start of the beautiful Fall season ….until next time.

4 thoughts on “Olly Olly Oxen Free…Come Out, Come Out Wherever You Are!!!!

    1. Lol….I’m sure you’re right about that Irv…..I’ll have to get right on that to test out that technique!! Hard telling what I might write about though…… Wine tends to erase all my “filters”…. Lol. You’re right about French Ridge. They have great wine also!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

